9780525619246.jpg

Evvie Drake Starts Over has arrived!

And I’m going on tour! Head over to events for all the details.

Some of the kind words floating around about my first novel:

“It’s everything a romantic comedy should be: witty, relatable and a little complicated.” — People

"Holmes writes with an easy warmth about kind people who are trying their best but messing things up anyway. Characters speak to each other with natural but hilarious dialogue, making their conversations a joy to read. Refreshingly, Evvie and Dean’s relationship hurdles come because they’re adults with complex lives and baggage, not because of easily fixed miscommunications. Although their romance is often front and center, there are many other emotionally affecting storylines, chief among them the changing friendship between Andy and Evvie and Evvie's need to stand up to her family. A warm and lovely romance, perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell and Louise Miller." Kirkus *starred review

Evvie Drake Starts Over is a heartwarming rom-com about loss, grief and second chances…Despite the kernel of sadness rooted at the novel’s core, Evvie Drake Starts Over is a feel-good read that radiates warmth…Holmes nails the balance between romance and humor, with Evvie and Dean’s effortless and truly funny dialogue being a particular strength…Uplifting and life-affirming, Evvie Drake Starts Over is a perfect choice for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Marian Keyes.BookPage

A smart romantic comedy…ripe with amusing wit and charm, [Evvie Drake Starts Over] skillfully explores regret and longing, friendship, love and forgiveness and the challenges posed by reinvention. Strong characterizations and short, well-plotted scenes are filled with clever banter…Readers will cheer for this richly drawn cast.Shelf Awareness

Evvie

Evvie Drake is a young widow living in a great big house on the coast of Maine. She married her high school sweetheart, and now that she’s without him, she has to figure out what’s next. And while she’s at it, she has to decide what to do about some things she’s been holding onto that even those closest to her don’t know.


Dean

Dean Tenney pitched for the Yankees until the day when he suddenly couldn’t. Tired of being followed around, tired of amateur advice, and tired of trying to fix what he apparently can’t, he needs a place to hide out for a while, and Maine seems like as good a place as any.


Andy

Andy Buck is a single dad whose best friend, Evvie, isn’t yet over the death of her husband. He wants to help, and he’s not sure how, and he’s got his own kids to raise and work to do. When his old buddy Dean needs a place to escape, he thinks the apartment in Evvie’s house might be just right.

For publicity inquiries about Evvie Drake Starts Over, reach out to Emily Isayeff, publicity manager at Random House. eisayeff@penguinrandomhouse.com